Photograph: Piotr Kaleta

A settlement started to develop here in the 12th century, following the construction of St Leonard"s Church in 1166. The famous knight Dersław, owner of the place, provided funds for the construction of a church and monastery and brought to Busko nuns of the Norbertine order around 1180.   According to the stipulations of his last will the village of Busko and a few neighboring villages pass into hands of the Norbertine nuns after his death in 1241. Busko received its municipal rights from king Leszek Czarny in 1287. The village soon acquires urban infrastructure, including a market square and burgher houses around it. The period between the 15th and 17th centuries was the town"s heyday. Busko was not only known for its rich deposits of brine but it also became an important manufacturing center of cloth with many new guilds, shops and a bathhouse. It also obtained meny new privileges from Poland"s subsequent rulers and was splendidly developing till the tragic fire in 1820, when almost the whole town was consumed by flames. Feliks Rzewuski, the town"s leaseholder of that time, offered help and using the local medicinal waters set up the first health resort in Busko during the town"s reconstruction in 1828.
First records about Busko"s brine deposits date back to 1252, when king Bolesław Wstydliwy (Boleslaus the Chaste) granted the privilege of its exploitation to the monastery. The local population knew and used the properties of the local brine for various medical purposes, including treatment of their livestock. In 1808, doctor Winterfeld of Pińczów tested the brine of Busko and confirmed its medicinal properties. Soon first bathers arrive in Busko. Feliks Rzewuski starts a company and invites famous architect Henryk Marconi to construct a bathhouse with 66 bathtubs. More and more bathers come to Busko each year and the spa becomes one of Poland"s most popular health resorts. A new railway line joining Dęblin with the Dąbrowskie Industrial Center made the spa of Busko more accessible to cure-seekers.
The health resort continues to develop in the inter-war period. A sanatorium for children Górka is built on the initiative of doctor Szymon Starkiewicz. New sanatoriums are constructed after World War II and Busko-Zdrój becomes one of Poland"s most important treatment centers of such ailments as circulatory system diseases, rheumatic conditions, locomotor organ problems, orthopedic, neurological and dermatological diseases as well as cases of     children"s cerebral palsy. The scope of treatments in Busko-Zdrój is systematically growing, its standards are very high and the use of iodide-bromide baths and sulphide and saline brine are not the only services available. From year to year Busko-Zdrój sanatoriums offer more wellness and SPA treatments.

Spa Park
The beautiful Spa Park in Busko-Zdrój was laid out by Henryk Marconi in the 19th century, while the greenery arrangements were designed by Ignacy Hanusz. The parkland can be divided into three parts: the bathhouse garden, Adam Mickiewicz Lane leading from the garden to the market square, and the town square with fountain on Plac Zwycięstwa. The garden occupies an area of about 40 acres and contains over 4.5 thousand plant species. A magnificent neoclassical building of Łazienki (Baths) stands in the middle of the park. It"s the oldest sanatorium in Busko-Zdrój, designed by Henryk Marconi. Today it houses a pump-room and sanatorium Marconi. All cultural events of the health resort are organized in the Spa Park. There is a band-shall, many cafés and restaurants on the park premises, and the Concert Hall often hosts Polish and foreign artists as well as the local Salonowa Orkiestra Zdrojowa (Spa Salon Orchestra). There is also a hill in he park with a neo-Gothic chapel (1888) on top which shelters a picture of St Anne, patroness of the spa. Strolling along the park lanes and paths one can admire many breath-taking villas occupied by sanatoriums and spa pensions (Bagatela, Sanato, Słowacki, Oblęgorek, Ormuzd, Zielona, Bristol).

Practical information:
ul. F. Rzewuskiego 1, 28-100 Busko-Zdrój
Phone: +4841 370 32 00
E-mail: dyrekcja@uzdrowisko-busko-zdroj.com.pl

“Włókniarz” Spa Resort

ul. Rokosza 1, 28-100 Busko-Zdrój
Phone: +4841 378 10 16
E-mail: sekretariat@wlokniarz.pl

21st Military Spa and Rehabilitation Hospital
ul. F. Rzewuskiego 8, 28-100 Busko-Zdrój
Phone: +48 41 378 03 85
E-mail: rezerwacja@21wszur.pl

Spa “Nida-Zdrój” Sp z o.o.
ul. Rzewuskiego 9, 28-100 Busko-Zdrój
Phone: +48 41 378 24 91~3
E-mail: biuro@sanatorium-nida.eu

Tourist Information Center in Busko-Zdrój
Self-Governmental Culture Center in Busko-Zdrój
al. Mickiewicza 22
28-100 Busko-Zdrój
Phone: +48 370 10 22
E-mail: informacja@busko.travel

Informations can be obtained in The Regional Center of Tourist Information
ul. Sienkiewicza 29
25-007 Kielce
Phone: +48 41 348 00 60
E-mail: informacja@swietokrzyskie.travel


Practical Information

  • Słowacki SPA Sanatorium & Hotel
    Słowacki SPA Sanatorium & Hotel


    ul. 1-go Maja 33

    Tel. +48 41 370 80 95

    Room from: 180 PLN

    A comfortable hotel and spa object is localized in the center of a health resort next to health resort related park with its own fenced park complex.

  • Kopińska Krystyna
    Kopińska Krystyna


    ul. Chopina 4

    Tel. +48 41 378 27 48

    Room from: 30

  • Skoczylas Danuta i Zdzisław
    Skoczylas Danuta i Zdzisław


    ul. 12-go Stycznia 4

    Tel. +48 41 378 21 36

    Room from: 25 PLN

  • Oszywa Henryk
    Oszywa Henryk


    ul. Chopina 1

    Tel. +48 41 378 43 68

    Room from: 35 PLN

  • Villa Ewa
    Villa Ewa


    ul. Kusocińskiego 4A

    Tel. +48 41 378 14 73

    The house is located about 100 meters from the spa park. The range includes single, double and triple rooms with bathrooms.

  • Mieleniewska Władysława
    Mieleniewska Władysława


    ul. Kwiatowa 15

    Tel. +48 41 370 12 45

    Room from: 25 PLN

  • Zamek Dersława
    Zamek Dersława


    al. Mickiewicza 18

    Tel. +48 41 378 85 47

    Room from: 60 PLN

    The facility derived from the beginning of 20. century. The name refers to the name of the first owner of the town.



    ul. Janusza Kusocińskiego 16

    Tel. +48 41 378 32 11

    Room from: 25 PLN

    Surrounded by large garden villa with single and double rooms including bathrooms and television. Visitors have opportunity to use fully equipped kitchen and parking on the premises.

  • Villa Natura
    Villa Natura


    ul. Chopina 9

    Tel. +48 41 378 70 56

    Comfortable, fully equipped rooms in a stylish building, that is situated in a spa-part of Busko, under care of doctors – specialists.

  • Oblęgorek II
    Oblęgorek II


    ul. Spacerowa 4

    Tel. +48 41 370 18 81

    The resort was built in 1903. The name comes from the place Oblęborek near Kielce and is connected with Henryk Sienkiewicz receiving a palace with estate from the Polish state in this village. „Oblęgorek” is a two-storied building.

~ comments