On the Bieliński Chain
- Detailed Information
- Tourist opinions
- Detailed InformationZwińRozwiń
- Object type:
- Difficulty of the route:
- Route route:
- Locations on the route:
- Bieliny – Duża Skała – Wał Małacentowski – Paprocice leśniczówka – Kobyla Góra – Wólka Milanowska – Nowa Słupia
- Tourist region:
- Kielce Region
- Tourist opinionsZwińRozwiń
~ comment|~ comments
The route leads mainly by forests, but it does not lack for attractive places where one can admire landscapes of the Świętokrzyskie Mountains.
Course: Bieliny – Duża Skała – Wał Małacentowski – Paprocice leśniczówka – Kobyla Góra – Wólka Milanowska – Nowa Słupia
Marking: section Bieliny – Wał Małacentowski – blue; section Wał Małacentowski – Nowa Słupia – green
Time: about 4,5h (Time does not include sightseeing).
Bieliny - the origins of Bieliny date back to the 15th century. Its Polish name is most probably derived from the main occupation of the villagers, which was flax bleaching. Remodelled in the 19th century, the parish church of St Joseph the Spouse was erected in the 17th century. Other sacral monuments include charming little wooden chapels (19th c.). The village of Bieliny is well-known for its huge plantations of strawberries. The Strawberry Day has been celebrated here since 1998. As the local inhabitants are very fond of old customs, the program entitled “The Land of Świętokrzyskie Legends” was created and became a great tourist attraction. These outdoor games let tourists travel through time and take them for journeys in the past.
Nowa Słupia - the area of the present Nowa Słupia was visited by pilgrims and merchants already in the 2nd century BC. Romans were coming to buy iron and pilgrims were heading for the summit of Mt Łysa Góra. The abbots from Święty Krzyż founded a town of Nowa Słupia in 1351. The new town obtained many privileges from king Władysław Jagiełło. It based its economy on services rendered to pilgrims. Dedicated to St Lawrence, the oldest parish church in Nowa Słupia was erected in 1678. Lateral naves and sacristy were added after World War II. Its interiors contain barrel vaults with late-Renaissance stucco works and Baroque side alters (18th c.) with paintings featuring Our Lady with the Infant and St Anne - Mother of the Holy Virgin Mary. Every year in August an archaeological festival known as Dymarki Świętokrzyskie is organized in Nowa Słupia in order to demonstrate visitors the ancient ways of smelting iron ore. Worth a visit is the Mieczysław Radwan Museum of Ancient Metallurgy.