On the Tumlińskie Hills

Text size:A-A+

Practical Information

  • Detailed InformationZwińRozwiń
    • Object type:
      Walking
    • Difficulty of the route:
      Intermediate
    • Route route:
      Kielecki
    • Locations on the route:
      Miedziana Góra (Car Race) – Ciosowa – Miedziana Góra – Kamień –Wykieńska – Tumlin Podgród – Grodowa – Tumlin – Tumlin Podgród – Car Race „Kielce”
    • Tourist region:
      Kielce Region
    • Organizer name:
      Świętokrzyski Oddział PTTK w Kielcach
    • Organizer data:
      25-007 Kielce, ul. Sienkiewicza 29
    • Phone:
      +48 41 344 77 43
    • fax:
      +48 41 344 59 14
    • E-mail:
      biuro@pttkkielce.pl
    • Website:
      www.pttkkielce.pl
    • Tourist opinionsZwińRozwiń

    ~ comment|~ comments


    Description

    The route leads mainly forest areas, however, does not lack attractive scenic sections. Geology enthusiasts will be interested in the traditions of Miedziana Góra and Tumlin surroundings, and fans of legends will find something among the mysterious Stone Circles on the Grodowa Mountain.

    photo A. Kowalska

    Course: Miedziana Góra (Car Race) – Ciosowa – Miedziana Góra – Kamień –Wykieńska – Tumlin Podgród – Grodowa – Tumlin – Tumlin Podgród – Car Race „Kielce”

    Marking: section Car race Kielce –  Ciosowa – without marking;  section Góra Ciosowa – Tumlin – red marking; section Tumlin – Miedziana Góra – without marking.
    Time: about 4h (Time does not include sightseeing).
    Lenght: 13,5 km

    Track of Car Races “Kielce”- the track was built in the 70ties of 20th century. Its length is now 4,160 meters, and the difference in levels of 60 m.

    Ciosowa Mountain – Tumlin red Triassic sandstone outcrops are protected here as a natural monument  in the former quarry. Raw material was used for making plates, steps and fittings.

    Miedziana Mountain - the name and history of the town is linked to the copper mine. This raw material covered the roofs of the Wawel Castle in 1593. The town prospered during the Staszicowskie Times, when Staszic expanded the existing mines here. To this day, in the village remains of old mines and 19th-century chapel of Saint Barbara can be seen.

    Kamień - wooded hill near Miedziana Mountain. On the southern, heavily overgrown hillside, a few dozen meters Devonian sandstone outcrops with bronze color are raised  to a height of 5m. This place is called "The Hell - Stone."

    Grodowa Mountain – an inanimate nature reserve with an area of almost 13 hectares has been set here in 1994.

    photo A. Kowalska

    Sandstone outcrops with unique combinations of sedimentary structures are protected here, as well as, monuments of material culture. The Grodowa Mountain was one of the three centers of pagan worship in the Świętokrzyskie Mountains which are proved by preserved fragments of cult shafts. According to tradition, a fortified settlement was built here, which gave refuge of the local population during the Mongol invasions. Worth to notice is the church chapel of Transfiguration of 1850, built on the site earlier. According to tradition, it has commemorated the 100. anniversary of the Swedish defense.

    Tumlin – one can see the church of Saint Stanisław, the Bishop. Founded in the 16th century, the building was enlarged in the 17th century. The facade of the church was covered by red sandstone slabs in 1986. The porch includes a commemorative plaque of partisan "Perkun" and murdered civilians. The interior is mainly baroque, except the 19th-century altar. At the cemetery one can see the19th-century tombs.