The dungeons of Opatów were created in times of the city"s prosperity caused by its growing influence and its location: here the merchant routes of Silesia – Cracow – Great Poland and Pomeranian – Ruthenia crossed.
- +48 15 868 27 78
The underground tourist route is open for visitors since 1997. The entrance is at the back of the Oleśnicki-Family tenement house, few meters away from the market square. The chambers and tunnels, which had been droned for ages, are shrouded in mystery. Some say that they stretch under the Wisła river’s bottom into the castle in Baranów Sandomierski.
- +48 15 832 23 05
By majority of Poles, the name of Wąchock is associated with sołtys (village head) who has been a hero of hundreds of jokes for a few decades. Neverthless, the origins of Wąchock go back to the 12th century, when settlement developed around the Cistercian Abbey.
The palace is located in a picturesque park gently descending towards the Nida river. What makes the façade characteristic is the middle columned projection topped by the attic which is decorated with statues and crests of Margraves Wielopolski (Starykoń) and Myszkowski (Jastrzębiec) families.
- Chroberz, Chroberz 258
- +48 663 015 566
Wiślica, located in the Ponidzie, was founded at least in 9th century. The legends have it that Wiślimir, the duke, was its founder and Wiślica derived its name from him. Wiślica was one of the towns of the state of Wiślanie, which was incorporated by Mieszko I in 990 in his domain of Polanie.
Włoszczowa was given by Queen of Poland Jadwiga to Marshal of the Crown Dymitr of Goraj in the late 14th century. Since then the town stayed in hands of private owners for many years. One of them, starosta of Chęciny Hieronim Szafraniec, managed to obtain municipal rights for Włoszczowa from king Zygmunt Stary (Sigismund the Old) in 1539.
The little town of Zagnańsk is located on the territory of the Suchedniowski-Oblęgorski Landscape Park, surrounded by beautiful woods of the Świętokrzyska Forest. These woods became an excellent source of raw material for the nearby foundries in Samsonów and Bobrza in the 18th century.
Zawichost upon the Vistula is located some 18 km north-east from Sandomierz. In the Middle Ages Zawichost was ruled by a castellan and was an important stronghold protecting the river crossing. In 1257 duke Bolesław Wstydliwy donated the town with surrounding localities to the local convent of Poor Clares founded by his sister Salome.
The crast phenomena on Zelejowa appear in numerous copybooks as a showcase of their kind. This region gained its fame because of the so called “Różanka Zalejowska” - the calcite of unique pattern.
- +48 41 315 10 06