First Jewish settlers came to Pińczów in the late 16th century. Towards the end of the same century, a kahal came into existence. Soon Jews were granted more privileges and a permission to build a synagogue came in 1594. The owner of the town, Zygmun Myszkowski, agreed for the construction of three synagogues: two were made of brick and one was constructed of wood.
- Pińczów, ul. Klasztorna
- +48 41 357 24 72
The first blast furnace on the Polish land was located in Bobrza, a small place in Kielce Powiat (the second level of Polish administrative division), in the 17th century. In 1824, at the distance of about 1 km, a new blast furnace plant was situated at the foot of a high slope.
The ruins of a rolling mill for fine rolled sections and steel sheets in Nietulisko Duże are the remains of a plant which was the last chain of the so-called “Starachowice industrial complex”.
- Nietulisko Duże
On top of the highest rocky mountain in the environs, known as Mt Zamkowa, stands a ruin of the Gothic Royal Castle of Chęciny. It was erected before 1306, and king Władysław Łokietek, bishop Jan Muskate, and king Władysław II are mentioned as its founders.
- Chęciny, pl. 2 Czerwca 4
Both the Sandomierz defensive walls and the castle were constructed during the reign of king Kazimierz III Wielki (14th c.). The castle was erected on the Castle Hill in place once occupied by a stronghold (10th c.). It was a residence of prince Henryk Sandomierski, son of king Bolesław III Krzywousty (1086-1138).
- Sandomierz, ul. Zamkowa 12
- +48 15 832 22 65
A blast furnace plant called “Joseph’s Steel Mill”, whose ruins one can admire up to the present, was built in the years 1818–1822 owing to the efforts of Stanisław Staszic. It was set up on the site of the first blast furnace of Bergamo type from 1598, which was rebuilt in the years 1641–44.
Bodzentyn, known in Central Europe for its horse markets, is one of the most frequently visited tourist places in the heart of the Świętokrzyskie Mountains. One of the most important monument in Bodzentyn is castle.
- +48 41 31 15 010
It"s the oldest church in Kielce. The first wooden building was erected at the turn of the 11th century. The next church was founded by canon Józef Rogalla in 1763. It was made of brick and acquired the Baroque appearance.
- Kielce, Skwer Świętego Wojciecha 9
- +48 41 344 46 81
Europe"s only timber church with rococo interiors and one of Poland"s most beautiful sacral monuments of wooden architecture. Erected most probably in the mid-18th century, it was founded by priest Maciej Józef Count Łubieński, owner of estates near Mnichów.
- +48 41 387 35 22
The sanctuary, which constitutes an important centre of Marian veneration, was built in the 1980’s owing to priest custodian Czesław Wala’s great will and driving force as well as the local inhabitants’ work.
- Godów, Unnamed Road
- +48 41 272 18 88