In 1171 the Bishop Gedeon founded a collegiate church under the invocation of the Ascension located on Wzgórze Zamkowe. It was a Romanesque-style temple.
- Kielce, pl. Marii Panny 3
- 048 41 344 63 07
The first church was erected here in approximately 1120, but the first recorded mention of the later basilica is found in the papal bulla issued by Eugene III in 1148. The church suffered damages in the 13th century, during frequent foreign invasions.
- Sandomierz, ul. Mariacka 10
- +48 15 832 73 43
The monastery was founded by the Wrocław bishop Janik Jaksa and his brother Klemens in 1140. It was raised near the Biała Nida river-head as the 21st branch of Morimond Abbey (France) and received the name of Morimondus Minor.
- Jędrzejów, ul. Kalsztorna 10
- +48 41 386 23 08
Koprzywnica is located in the Koprzywianka River valley and not far from the city of Sandomierz. Its fame is due to the former residence of the Cistercian order. Both the church and remains of the monastery constitute a stop-over on the European Cistercian Trail.
- Koprzywnica, ul. Krakowska 76
- +48 15 847 62 02
Pride of the place is Poland"s best-preserved Romanesque monastic church devoted to the Holy Virgin Mary and St Florian. The monastery was delegated by the Abbey of Morimond in Burgundy, France. The abbey was probably founded by the Cracovian bishop Gedko of the Grifit family in 1179.
- Wąchock, ul. Kościelna 14
The present church was founded by the king Kazimierz III the Great, but its interior conceals the remains of the former Romanesque churches. The first one dates back to the 12th century with unique “Płyta Orantów” (the Slab of Orants) – one of the most important and valuable examples of Romanesque art.
- Wiślica, ul. Długosza 26
- +48 41 379 20 39
The monastery was founded by king Kazimierz Wielki in 1368. Ruined by Protestants and Swedes, it was rebuilt and enlarges in the later periods to acquire new cloisters, chapels and additional storeys. It was taken away from the Franciscans at the beginning of the 19th century and became a prison.
- Chęciny, ul. Franciszkańska 10
- +48 41 315 10 69
In 1624 in the vicinity of Rytwiany town Golden Forest Hermitage was built for the Camaldolese order of Monte Corona congregation. At the time the Annunciation Church, monastic buildings, outbuildings and eremitorium, a complex of hermit houses came into existence.
- 41 344 77 43
Łysiec mountain, nowadays referred to as Święty Krzyż mountain was especially liked by witches ages ago. The folk legend has it that during their Sabbaths witches practised witchcraft and organised hellish parties and dances.
- Święty Krzyż
- +48 41 317 70 21
The Parish Church of St Bartholomew is located at the rock terrace cut in the slope of the Zamkowa Mountain (300 m above sea level). It was probably founded by Władysław the Elbow-High. The construction was started around 1315 and was finished in the times of Kazimierz III the Great.
- Chęciny, ul. Radkowska 4
- +48 41 315 10 31